Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 22nd, 2010

Dr. Norma, I presume?

 I recently interviewed BIC Dean, Norma Schneider, about her doctoral studies. Norma is enrolled at NorthCentral University where she has been pursuing her Doctorate in Business Administration.

 How did you select this program?

I selected the program through research and referral. It took about two years to land on what I was going to do and where. I had to choose a program that had the content I wanted, the designation I wanted, and the delivery format I needed.

What have you enjoyed most about the program so far?

 Two things. First is exposure to some courses I haven’t done before. Marketing, finance, and statistics are all areas in which I haven’t done course work. Secondly, I’m enjoying the leadership courses because I’m able to enrich my learning through my experience here and vice versa, so the two work together quite well.

What have you found most challenging?

I found learning to be an online researcher and accessing the right kind of resources initially challenging. 

One thing that made it much easier in general is that my institution is very well organized and they make it very easy to be a student: register, pay, get your books, know who your instructor is…they are really good at online learning.

How do you manage the work, life, balance thing?

I only take one course at a time. Online allows me to be quite flexible. My family gets to see more movies than me because I send them out so I can get some peace and quiet.

 

Who would you have liked to have been?

Jacqueline Kennedy

What is your most marked characteristic?

My loud laugh.

What do you most value in your friends?

Unconditional love.

What is your favorite colour?

Blue

What is your favorite flower?

Gardenia

What is it you most dislike?

Unwillingness to learn.

What natural gift would you most like to possess?

Sing.

What is your present state of mind?

Thoughtful.

Where would you like to live?

By the ocean.

What do you regard as the lowest depths of misery?

The inability to sleep.

What do you most admire in a man?

Makes me laugh.

What do you most admire in a woman?

Strength with empathy.

What is your motto?

Everyone takes different paths to their destinations: respect them.

Read Full Post »